top of page
  • Writer's picturebazzreviews

WHAT'S IN MY VINYL COLLECTION?

Hi, everyone! A while back, I put a poll on the bazzreviews Instragram to see if anyone would want to see what's in my vinyl collection. The response was overwhelmingly positive, so I decided to write out a little bit about each of the records in collection. If you're already a vinyl fan or newer and looking to start a collection, I'm hoping that I can share some of my favorite albums with you!


Before I dive in, I just want to tell you guys a bit about the gear I use and why I recommend it to you. Firstly, for the turntable, I have an AudioTechnica AT-LP60. It's a really great starter player that is under $100, and is used by a myriad of listeners, from beginners to even the most elite.

*WARNING!* DO NOT BE TRENDY AND BUY A CROSLEY! Even though they have a nice low selling point, I was an idiot when I was younger and bought one as my first player. I quickly learned that they don't play heavier vinyl well. The arm is very feeble and has a chance at ruining some of your prized records. While the AT-LP60 runs slightly faster than some players, the sound quality is still outstanding for the price you're paying.


For headphones, I have my jack-of-all-trades pair that I use for recording podcasts, watching movies, and listening to music on my laptop. They're another AudioTechnica set, the M20s. At $50, they, too, are some of the best budget and starter headphones for any audiophile out there. Their main use is intended for studio mixing and tracking, but the noise isolation on there is pretty sweet and has some nice drivers to deliver a clean sound.


For speakers, I still have the set my dad gave me when he helped me get my setup running. It runs through a Sony CD player, and the speakers on there are nice too. I don't know the model name, but if you're looking for speakers, I'm sure there are a lot of great articles on the Interwebs to help you out.


Illinois- Sufjan Stevens

Goodness gracious, where can I even begin with this record? I fell in love with it early on in high school, and I just had to buy a copy of it when I was a little younger. While some of the songs on the back end are not my favorite, Sufjan really blew my mind with the compositions on that first half of the record.


The Velvet Underground & Nico- The Velvet Underground

This is one record that I knew I needed to pick up. It’s an essential for any vinyl listener, not only because it’s a great record, but because of its significance, too. Just don’t be like me and try to rip off the sticker after buying it…


Helplessness Blues- Fleet Foxes

I bought this after I reviewed it last February. I think it was around $20, so I figured it wasn’t too bad of an investment for a pretty decent record. It’s 180g, so nice quality. Plus, it came with a nice little digital download card, too.


The College Dropout- Kanye West

This was the first Yeezy record I ever bought. I was kind of going through a College Dropout phase at the time and it was more of an impulse purchase to spin on my turntable. I like how either Kanye or the record label decided to trim off most of the annoying interludes off here, so cop this if you’re looking for the most enjoyable listen of this album.


You’re Dead!- Flying Lotus

I tend to buy albums that I think sound really great, because I know that they’ll sound even better on a nice turntable. This record was no exception. I love FlyLo, and this is an essential electronic record for any music fan to own.


Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band- The Beatles

I think this one was a gift to me a few years back. Not my favorite Beatles record, as some of you may know, but still a nice record to have to round out my collection of older albums.


Currents- Tame Impala

This, without a doubt, could have been the best investment I’ve ever made on a vinyl. $30 for some of the most beautiful sounding pieces of music I’ve ever heard? I think yes. At the time I bought it, I didn’t really think it was “god-tier” as I do now, but listening to that record with no stops or skips a few times certainly changed my mind on the matter.


Discovery- Daft Punk

Again, this is another case where I got it because it sounded good in regular listening mode. And damn it, does that vinyl sound so clean. I’ll throw this on when I’m wanting to feel good, because there are so many amazing tracks on here.


My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy- Kanye West

I could talk about this record for days. You all know how much I love it, so I’ll spare you of all that nonsense and just tell you that it’s in my collection for a good reason.


Salad Days- Mac DeMarco

If memory serves, I bought this while visiting family up in Annapolis. They have a great little record shop there called KA-CHUNK! Records. I probably spent about 45 minutes to an hour there looking through their catalog, and it’s pretty damn good for a local shop. If you’re in the Annapolis/Baltimore area, definitely worth a stop in!


Sketches of Brunswick East- King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard + Mild High Club

I had a huge King Gizz in my sophomore year of high school, so I felt the urge to buy one of their records. I was banking on my local entertainment shop to have a copy of it, but all they had was like six or seven copies of this record in their system. It’s still one of my favorite records from them, so I’m not complaining.


In the Aeroplane Over the Sea- Neutral Milk Hotel

Such a classic album, and I'm so glad I picked it up! Cool liner notes, plus a digital download card for $20.


Run the Jewels- Run the Jewels

I used to have this vinyl subscription service called VNYL, and it was alright. While I would occasionally pull a half-decent record, most of them would be from no-name artists that I wasn’t familiar with. When they dropped this RTJ package, I knew I’d have to select that one for my monthly box. It’s gold vinyl, which is really cool, plus it came with this cool album patch with the group’s logo. Kinda sick, if you ask me.


Ye- Kanye West

I think I bought this a month or two after it came out. It was $15, so not the dumbest purchase I’ve ever made by any means. I don’t really listen to it all that often, just keeping it for sentimental value at this point.


Neapolitan- Hot Flash Heat Wave

I think this might have been the last record I’ve bought. I bought it from their merch stand when I did an interview back with them in August. I got a press pass from them, and tickets were $18, so I thought that the $20 cost of the vinyl would be a way to not be some freeloader.


Plastic Beach- Gorillaz

THIS IS SUCH A GOOD GORILLAZ ALBUM! I saw it for $25 and was like, “Damn, I gotta have this”. So, now I have it! And it sounds awesome! And I got the alternative album art! Which is cool!


Madvillainy- Madvillain

I never expected to find a copy of this on vinyl, but I went crazy when one of my local shops had this one for sale. I spent the $20 on it and never looked back.


Good Kid, m.a.a.d City- Kendrick Lamar

I think this album is like $15 or something on Amazon now, so definitely a great record to start your collection with. I’ve said before that GKMC is my fav Kendrick album, and I knew that I’d like to have it in my collection when I saw it.


Purple Rain- Prince

This was one that my grandma gave me this one a couple years back. It’s a cool record, I think I’ve put it on a couple times before. I don’t know if I’m the biggest Prince fan ever, but there’s some decent cuts on there.


Revolver- The Beatles

I think I may have taken this one for myself when my parents were cleaning out their vinyl collection. It’s number-one all time for me, so it’s safe to say that it was definitely a great record to have received for free.


Bookends- Simon and Garfunkel

This happened to be my first S&G purchase, and it’s a nice record to have a physical copy of.


LP1- FKA Twigs

This was another good record I pulled from the VNYL days. I love LP1, and would consider copping Magdalene soon, too.


“Chef” Soundtrack- Various Artists

I traded an old friend of mine for this one. I love Chef as a movie, and the soundtrack to that movie is out-of-this-world, too. If you don’t want to buy it on vinyl, definitely check it out on streaming.


Some Girls- Rolling Stones

This was $5 for a used copy. I haven’t listened to a lot of Stones, so I thought I’d pick it up and check it out… unfortunately, still haven’t gotten there yet.


Hotel California- The Eagles

Classic record, another $5 bin find. Just a fun record to turn on when I’m hanging out or doing work or something.


Rubber Soul- The Beatles

Forgive me for being a pleb and buying the American version. I think this is a copy from ‘65 if I’m not mistaken, though, so I think it was definitely worth the purchase. That, and it’s my second favorite Beatles album.


“The Graduate” Soundtrack- Simon and Garfunkel

I think I saw this in like a dollar bin somewhere and instantly pulled the trigger. The Graduate is one of my favorite movies of all time, and again, this is one where the soundtrack hits the spot every time.


Abbey Road- The Beatles

Just a classic record to own. I know my parents had a copy, but the B-side was warped to hell and back. This copy was gifted to me, and it’s 180g. Not only will it not be warped, but sound a lot nicer than it’s circa 1980s-purchase.


Bridge Over Troubled Water- Simon and Garfunkel

If you couldn’t tell by now, Simon and Garfunkel are a hot commodity in my record collection. ‘Nuff said.


Thanks so much for checking this out guys, and I hope you guys are able to start a nice collection, or round out your existing library with some new fins. If you're looking for other essentials, feel free to reach out to me! I'm happy to help you in any way I can. Have a rockin' day, and I'll see you back here soon with some amazing bazzreviews content!


20 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page