top of page
  • Writer's picturebazzreviews

MY 30-DAY SONG CHALLENGE

Hi, everyone! I know some people are losing their sanity through the fifth or sixth week of quarantine (even I can't keep track anymore), but hang in there! I found this nifty little bingo card on Instagram for music. You may have seen something called the "30 Day Song Challenge", which a lot of people are choosing to partake in. While I haven't posted mine anywhere, I decided to log each song that I thought was relevant and premiere it on here. So, without further ado, I present to you my 30 day song challenge!


Day 1- A song with a color in the title- “BLACK BALLOONS” by Denzel Curry

Love the vibe of this song, especially the deeper meanings and symbolism behind the black balloons. I would honestly includes the whole trilogy for this if I could, including “THE BLACKEST BALLOON” and “Black BalLoons Reprise” from Flying Lotus’ record Flamagra. Each of the three are incredible tracks.


Day 2- A song you like with a number in the title- “Number 9” by Moon Hooch

Love the guys from Moon Hooch, and I love the frenetic nature of this song. This will definitely have you grooving while walking down a street corner or on a subway platform, where the trio got their start as musicians.

Day 3- A song that reminds you of summertime- “Six Speed” by Current Blue

This was my summer anthem of 2019. I was super happy that the guys from CB go to sit down with me and chat, because they’ve got a lot of potential down the road.


Day 4- A song that reminds you of someone you’d rather forget- “Circles by Post Malone”

After hearing some of the annoying tracks Posty has put out over the years, I swore to myself that I would never listen to his music willingly. That is, until the end of my first relationship. While it didn’t last very long, music (and this song especially) was there when I needed something to latch onto. There’s no bad memories about this song, but I can tell you that I probably listened to this song about twenty or twenty-five times in the span of a week.


Day 5- A song that needs to be played loud- “Hot Nigga” by Bobby Shmurda

This is perhaps the most memetic rap song of the last ten years. All jokes aside, this song actually bumps like crazy. Roll down your windows, turn up the volume and crack the bass on your car’s speaker system and blast this to the heavens. As shameful as it sounds, I can probably rap about 85-90% of this track in my sleep.


Day 6- A song that makes you want to dance- “High You Are” by What So Not

I discovered this track a few years back, and it’s become one of my favorite dance tunes ever. LOVE the drop on this, and the wonky synth lines and slick vocals are awesome here. It definitely allows you to get your moves on.


Day 7- A song to drive to- “Late Night” by ODESZA

This is a recently discovered track of mine, but I couldn’t stop playing it after I’d heard it. It just has that incomparable vibe that pairs well with a late night drive or in one of those montage videos on YouTube or Instagram.


Day 8- A song about drugs or alcohol- “Mask Off” by Future

I’m not a big fan of Future, but like Posty on day 4, sometimes there’s a silver lining for an artist. “Mask Off” is Future’s. The classic hook of


Percocets/ Molly, Percocets/ Percocets/ Molly, Percocets”


basically sums up why it’s about drugs and alcohol.


Day 9- A song that makes you happy- “Rawnald Gregory Erickson the Second” by STRFKR

I always love the jauntiness this song has. It’s just a feel-good track that always puts me a smile across my lips.


Day 10- A song that makes you sad- “Reprise” (from Spirited Away) by Joe Hisaishi

I honestly could have put about 800 different songs for this one, but this track is one of those that just resonates with you from the moment you hear it. After watching this film recently, and hearing this song at the end of Chihiro’s journey, you can’t help but just shed a tear or two at the beautiful orchestral lines within this track.


Day 11- A song that you never get tired of- “POWER” by Kanye West

You guys all know it already. This is perhaps my favorite song of all time. ‘Nuff said.


Day 12- A song from your preteen years- “Cupid Shuffle” by Cupid

Come on. It’s the easiest dance since the Cha-Cha Slide, so why wouldn’t you want to learn it?


Day 13- A song you like from the 70s- “Deacon Blues” by Steely Dan

Steely Dan is one of my favorite “dad rock” bands. I remember at my first summer job, my boss had an iPod that controlled the restaurant’s music. Every time I would close, I’d throw this track on and it really gets you through the night.


Day 14- A song you’d love to be played at your wedding- “Home Again” by Michael Kiwanuka

A poignant slow jam. Great lyrics and Kiwanuka's vocals add a whole new layer of pureness to this track. It would be incredible to look into the eyes of a future wife with this song playing in the background.


Day 15- A song you like that’s a cover- “Killing Me Softly With His Song” by The Fugees

The Roberta Flack version is great, but WOW does this put the song on a whole new playing field. Lauryn Hill’s soft, yet powerful delivery is so memorable and really strikes home in a lot of ways.


Day 16- A song that’s a classic favorite- “Heroes” by David Bowie

To be honest with you, I... really don’t know where I’d be without hearing this song. It sounds nothing like anything else in Bowie’s discography in my opinion, which makes it all the more amazing. Beautiful vocals, deep guitar riffs, it all just sounds so ahead of it’s time.


Day 17- A song you’d sing a duet with someone on karaoke- “Mr. Brightside” by the Killers

Every time my friends would go out and hang in the summer, this was always a staple. Roof open, volume up, and screaming this memorable chorus as loud as our vocal cords would permit.


Day 18- A song from the year you were born- “Digital Love” by Daft Punk

Look up when this came out, and you’ll realize I’m THAT young. Also, this song is great!

Listen to this, all of Discovery while you're at it. But you have watch Interstella 5555 afterwards. One of my new favorite music movies out there.


Day 19- A song that makes you think about life- “Someday” by the Strokes

I love Julian Casablancas as a musician, but here, his lyricism and vocal delivery just tells a brilliant story that really paint a bigger picture about one’s journey through life.


Day 20- A song that has many meanings to you- “Drive Safe” by Rich Brian

A pensive pick, no doubt. Is this about driving safe, past love and regrets? Have you any alternative interpretations? Hence why I picked this…


Day 21- A song you like with a person’s name in the title- “BALDWIN” by Jamila Woods

I feel kind of bad leaving Jamila Woods’ project off my 2019 top ten list, because many of the songs- especially this one- has definitely grown on me recently. Love the trumpet lines by Nico Segal that add so much beauty behind Woods’ vocals.


Day 22- A song that moves you forward- “gb/ol/h/nf” by oso oso

I heard this song for the first time last year, and I think it has a lot of relevant lyrics that just lead to better things. That’s my interpretation, at least.


Day 23- A song you think everyone should listen to- “Walking on a Dream” by Empire of the Sun

If you don’t like this, we can’t be friends. Sorry, not sorry.


Day 24-A song by a band you wish were still together- “Tugboat” by Galaxie 500

This short-lived group based out of NYC were definitely a predecessor to the many shoegaze bands that came in the early 90s. Discovered this while watching Perks of Being a Wallflower, which you can find on Netflix. Unusual lyrics, yes, but I love the sound on this track. Hopefully, you agree.


Day 25- A song you like by an artist no longer living- “Between the Bars” by Elliott Smith

Damn, did we lose this man too soon. An immensely talented musician who could just tear your heart into about a thousand pieces with his deep, depressing lyrics.


Day 26- A song that makes you want to fall in love- “When the Sun Hits” by Slowdive

I mean, if you haven’t imagined any kind of love-making activity to the instrumental break of this song, then I don’t know what to tell you. It’s one that when you hear it, it’ll definitely change your life.


Day 27- A song that breaks your heart- “For Emma” by Bon Iver

Seriously, name one time Justin Vernon hasn’t broken your heart. Go ahead, I’ll wait. Though all of the songs on For Emma, Forever Ago do that, the title track is a song that really goes the deepest.


Day 28- A song by an artist whose voice you love- “Easy” by the Commodores

LOVE Lionel Richie’s voice on this, and just wait for the notes he hits on the key change at the end of the song. It sounds absolutely incredible.


Day 29- A song you remember from your childhood- “Hey Ya!” by OutKast

I just heard this song the other day and I remembered.. gosh, this is actually a bop. You literally cannot go wrong with 3000’s catchy vocals and the instrumental goes just as hard.


Day 30- A song that reminds you of yourself- “Alien Boy” by Oliver Tree

The name itself and its lyrics could definitely sum up my personality.


So, what songs would you put down for each of these themes? Feel free to reach out to me and let me know what you think! Thanks again for checking this, and I hope to see you back again soon!


44 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page