top of page
  • Writer's picturebazzreviews

AN INTERVIEW: DAYSORMAY

Hi, everyone! I recently sent some interview questions to the British Columbia-based pop act daysormay. One of the hottest young acts in the indie scene right now, the three-piece recently collaborated with respected indie musician on their latest single "Role Model." I saw some potential in their music and decided to reach out and find out more about their upbringing, growth as musicians and newfound fame.



bazzreviews: Which albums or artists inspired you guys to start a music career in the first place?

Aidan Andrews: I don’t know if there were any specific albums or artists that made me want to start,

it was moreso music and songwriting being an outlet that I really needed at the time. I started getting into music because I thought it was cool, but I kept making music because it helped me work through things I was struggling with. It still is the same way for me today.

Carson Bassett: I say this a lot, but Rage Against the Machine was the first band where I saw how music could become bigger than you. 


Nolan Bassett: The band that really got me into music was Rush. Especially being a bass player, hearing an absolute legend like Geddy Lee play was really what did it for me.


br: How did you guys first end up meeting each other?

A.A.: We were about 7 years old. We all used to cross-country ski competitively, and we

happened to be in the same ski group. I was in another band at the time, and I was really loyal to that band. I didn’t want to play with anyone else. My dad actually convinced me to be more open-minded and get to know these guys. Eventually, we all hung out, and it was the most fun I’d had playing music. I ended up quitting my other band as a result. I guess you could say that it just worked out that I played guitar, Nolan played bass, and Carson played drums.


br: What’s the significance behind the group’s name?

A.A.: daysormay is a kind of anglicized spelling of désormais, a french word that

means “from now on” or “henceforth”.


N.B.: Taking up where Aidan left on that, it really ended up being sort of a mission statement for the band. We always want to look forward and not dwell on the past or worry about how we should sound. Those are definitely all things that have stunted our growth as musicians and songwriters, and that mantra has helped us get better at our craft.


What can you say about the “Our Kids Have Talent” competition you guys competed in back in the day?


A.A.: Oh, man. It’s kind of strange to look back on now, but back then it felt like it was like a make or

break moment for our career. We were all maybe, like, 11 years old, and it definitely wasn’t. We ended up making a lot of friends in the local scene through competing in it, and it got me hooked on the hustle of being competitive. After each show, going home and working as hard as you can so that next time you beat the band you lost to was something that made me feel proud of being a musician.


br: How about that one time you were busking to make money for a crab trap?

A.A.: Nice find! Yeah, that was a great time in our lives. There were a few years in a row where we would all go to a small town on the Sunshine Coast in British Columbia and play and write a lot of music. We would busk on the sidewalk sometimes, too. I think someone told us if you put a crab trap off a certain dock you were guaranteed to catch one, so we took the $7 or so we made from busking and bought a trap with it. If memory serves, I think we caught 2 crabs. I couldn’t eat them, though. 


Br: I hear that the live show is a big part of the band’s image, but would you say you prefer performing live rather than working on new songs?

A.A.: Yeah, the live show is a huge deal for us. I love both, and I don’t think you can’t really compare them. They’re both equally great outlets in their own right, and they definitely have an effect on each other. Playing live is like an instant emotional release, whereas songwriting can be kind of slow and painful. My favourite thing is when we go right from a tour into the studio. You still have that show energy and mindset with you, and I’ve found it translates really well into the songwriting process.


Carson- is it true that you were secretly beekeeping on tour once?

C.B.: That’s for me to know, and you to find out.

Can you describe your process for making songs?

A.A.: It’s different every time. Sometimes it’s totally from scratch and us just improvising in our practice space until we get something that hits. Other times, it starts from a voice memo, a lyric, sample, anything. We don’t put restrictions on what we can take inspiration from or how we will write songs. Some songs have been completely programmed in the laptop, others started on acoustic guitar or piano. 


C.B.: As Aidan was saying, our process is always different for a reason. I think that when you create something that was never there before, you can’t use the same process every time. It could lead to a similar song or you getting bored with your way of expressing yourself. The songs that happen naturally are always my favourites.


What’s more important to you guys- lyricism, or production value and

instrumentation?


A.A.: They’re all important, but I do believe that if the songwriting and the lyrics are great,

the production doesn’t matter as much. It depends on the kind of music you’re making, though.


C.B.: I don’t think one can be more important than the other. In my opinion, the most important thing for finding enjoyment in a song is how it makes you feel. Whether that’s felt through some insane production or just good lyricism, it really depends on what you get a positive reaction from. 


N.B.: I really think that a good song needs all three, especially in the kind of music that we

want to make. I’m super in to how some songs can draw people in with such diverse

tastes depending on which of those three resonate with them the most. If the artist

has pulled off all of those things so well, they’re able to reach a much bigger audience.


What was it like getting to work with Tessa Violet on your new single “Role Model”?

A.A: She’s great, it’s really cool to be around someone like that who always has a unique

view on music and the industry. I really appreciate her giving us the opportunity to grow as musicians. Between touring together and working on “Role Model,” I definitely learned a lot from her. She taught me a lot about standing by my own ideas and sticking with what I believe in the face of everyone else’s opinions. 


N.B.: Tessa has so much incredibly valuable insight into so many aspects of the music industry and on how to grow a fan base on the internet as well as being such a kind and accepting person. I really don’t think any of us could have asked for a better person to launch ourselves into a larger audience alongside.


C.B.: Getting to work with Tessa wasn’t only some of the most fun I’ve had, but like Aidan and Nolan were saying, there were also some important learning points as well. She is a great leader and teacher, and it is definitely something I'll never forget.


You guys have been featured on various playlists and news sources lately, how have you guys reacted to the newfound exposure you’ve been having recently?


A.A.: Well, we all own AirPods now, so… all jokes aside, it’s just a really insane feeling to see people talking about something you’ve made and have them actually liking it. It blows my mind every time. A lot of these songs are from rough patches in my life, so to have been able to take those negative

experiences and turn them into positive things like songs that people can enjoy, I’m really grateful for that.


C.B.: I still can’t believe it myself. It’s incredible to see something that is an outlet for me to be able to impact someone else’s life in a positive way.


N.B.: It’s amazing to feel like we have a growing group of people who will share and help promote our music. Like Aidan and Carson touched on, when we have people actually like the music we make and reach out to say that our music has impacted them positively is such an amazing experience. In a way, it feels like all of the work we’ve put in is starting to pay off. With that being said, this is only the beginning.


Knowing everything you do about music and the music business now, what is one thing

you’d tell your past self?


A.A.: Trust your instinct and don’t stop writing.

C.B.: A great idea is more powerful than anything.

N.B.: Don’t give up so easily.


I know that you guys have only released a few singles to date, but is there another project in the works right now? If so, can you tell me a little bit about what it’s got in store?


A.A.: We have an EP that’s 100% done and coming out later this year, and we also have a lot of

new songs we’re excited about. It’s kind of crazy actually, because we’re currently promoting “Role

Model” and will be promoting the EP next. We’re simultaneously working on the next two

projects at the same time. It’s a cool feeling, you know? We’ve never been in a situation where we’re promoting music and beginning to work on so much more. I’m stoked to just keep going and never stop.


What do you want people reading this to know about your band and the music you

make?


A.A.: We do what we want. What we listen to is always changing, and we keep finding

new sources of inspiration every day. The daysormay “sound” as we know it will most likely not be there two albums from now. Maybe that’s more of a disclaimer, but what I mean is that we’re always working to evolve, not plateau. Change is a big part of our identity as a band, and it’s really important to us that we grow in any way we can.


What music goals do you have for the future?

A.A.: Like we touched on at the beginning of the interview, we want to keep getting better at everything. Whether that be songwriting, shows, videos, design, or interacting with people who like what we’re doing, we don’t want to ever be content with where we are presently. 


C.B.: I really want to get better at what I do, so that will hopefully make me a part of

something bigger than myself or the band. I really want to lay a foundation of a new wave

of  “band music” so someone can use it as a stepping stone for the future.


N.B.: Carson hit it right on the head. I definitely want to be a part of something bigger than myself or the band, so in the meantime, I will be working as non-stop as I can handle.


I'd like to thank Aidan, Carson, and Nolan for contributing to this interview. Go check out "Role Model" and some of the existing music they have. In the meantime, thanks for checking this out, and keep your eyes open for more bazzreviews content coming soon!


You can find daysormay's music at https://open.spotify.com/artist/1gneO1Mf6DCsgxUtDzF4lS

73 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page