top of page
  • Writer's picturebazzreviews

AN INTERVIEW: BILLY UOMO

Updated: Apr 7, 2021

Hi, everyone! A few weeks ago, I got to sit down with West Coast singer-songwriter Billy Uomo. Uomo, formerly of his family band Babes, has been developing his solo career as Billy Uomo with an unusual musical idea: over the last few years, he has begun releasing four-track EPs as part of a ten EP/forty-track project. I thought that was a super brilliant concept, and I'm very glad that he was willing to come on and chat a little bit more about it.


br: Which albums or artists inspired you to start a music career in the first place?

Billy Uomo: Music has always been my path, but here are some musical reasons. The Delfonics, The Stylistics Smokey Robinson, Wu-Tang Clan - specifically RZA- Nate Dogg, Todd Rundgren, Benji Hughes, Patsy Cline, Lorretta Lynn, Anita Baker, The Ballads, and The Art Laboe Show. Also, Motown girl groups like The Ronettes, The Shangri-las and the Chantels, plus shades of punk music and other friends' bands here in LA.

br: How have you been staying active musically during quarantine?

B.U.: It's really just been me finishing these songs on my next EP that I want to share. Cooking in the kitchen is really musical for me, too. br: It seems like the live show is a big part of your image, would you say that you prefer playing live rather than working on new songs?

B.U.: Anything I do is only to be able to write and record more music. I am an introvert, so being in the studio all alone is my place. I'm writing all the time, and I never really stop no matter the situation. Live shows can be fun, and I dig it, but I will always consider myself to be a songwriter first

br: Tell me a little bit about this set of 10 EPs you’ve said you’ve been working on for the past few years- what made you want to go down that route?

B.U.: I write a lot of music, and I need a way to put it all together, or I'll just keep writing and recording new s--t without releasing enough. If someone did 10 EPs and 40 songs, it looked pretty and sounded good, I would like that person


br: Do you believe the modern album is as important as it once was? B.U.: Maybe, probably, but I've never been excited by albums as much as songs. So, for me it's the same as before. if you write a song I feel, I'm with you

br: Can you describe your process for making songs?

B.U.: I catch a feeling in my heart, then try to expand on that vibe in my head. Even if it's only a start, I play that on an instrument. That could take anywhere from five minutes to 5 years. I take the time to write the hooks that would hook me and use only the good melodies- never the bad ones. Then I record and produce it.

br: What’s more important to you- lyricism, or production value and instrumentation?

B.U.: I think of it as the three things that my songs need are instrumentation, lyricism and rhythms. I like production quite a bit, but the values are always changing. I'd rather focus on those three vibes that always work for anyone. br: What have been some of your favorite songs to have made over the years?

B.U.: I usually like whatever im making now the most. When I listen back to what I put out, I hear them as the entire project more- 40 songs and how they will sound together. I want it to be listenable and pretty all the way through, it's important for me.

br: Are there any fun stories behind them? B.U.: Each song has a fun story... I make music and hang out with hilarious musicians.

br: If there was one song you could rewrite or delete from your discography entirely, which one would you choose?

B.U.: None. I love them all. Every song is a progression of my journey.

br: What music goals do you have for the future?

B.U.: I'll always make my own music, but I would like to produce and write for other people. It doesn't matter who, as long as it's a vibe, I feel.

I'd like to thank Billy for being so down to chat, I had a great time! If you haven't heard any of his music at this point, I could not recommend it enough. His most popular song, "Alone Together," just surpassed 1,000,000 streams on Spotify recently, so keep running that up! Another big thanks to all of you guys for checking this out, and I hope to see you back here for the next piece of bazzreviews content coming your way!


To hear "Alone Together" and more from Billy Uomo, head over to https://open.spotify.com/artist/5sy7urwVs9FG9U82yvwmkY



258 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page