top of page
  • Writer's picturebazzreviews

A VERY MERRY BAZZMAS: MY FAVORITE CHRISTMAS TUNES

Hi, everyone! I hope everyone had a Happy Thanksgiving, or Thanksgiving equivalent. I'm one of the firm believers that one simply cannot partake in anything Christmas-related until THE DAY AFTER Thanskgiving. It's annoying when you hear stores play their Christmas mixes way too early, as well as seeing everyone decorating their houses and buildings with Christmas garb. I mean, why can't Thanskgiving get as much love, you know? Anyways, I hope that today you are able to find a diversion from your Black Friday retail therapy session to reading some of my picks for the best Christmas tunes out there!


For reference, I am splitting these up into the traditional versions of Christmas carols and songs ("THE STAPLES"), and one section will be compositions written directly for or about the Christmas Holiday ("SPECIALTY COMPOSITIONS"). Happy reading!


THE STAPLES:

“It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year” by Andy Williams

Overplayed? Yes. Amazing? Also yes. That’s all I got.


“White Christmas” by Bing Crosby

One of the best Christmas songs, and movies, ever. The noisier the recording of this song is, the harder it hits. I love how it’s supposed to be optimistic or something, but the way Bing delivers the vocals is so unbelievably somber. I honestly think that’s why this is my favorite rendition of it.


“It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas” by Perry Como

THE VOCAL HARMONY IN THIS SONG! UNREAL! I know I’m mentioning super arbitrary stuff that not a lot of people notice, but that’s what really stands out to me when I’m listening to Perry Como’s version. Michael Buble’s attempt to recreate Como is also great, but is in nowhere near the same league as this.


“Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer” by Dean Martin

No, I’m not picking the overplayed Burl Ives version for this staple. I actually like the way Dean Martin delivers the lyrics in his Rat Pack-y voice. It’s honestly so much more amusing compared to Ives’ more plainfolk version. However, speaking of Burl Ives…


“Have A Holly Jolly Christmas” by Burl Ives

An absolute gem of a track, and easily the best version of it. I think Ives’ vocals feel better on this track than on “Rudolph,” which is why I picked this and not one of the other one hundred versions that have been done.


“Blue Christmas” by Elvis Presley

This song was actually pretty undiscovered for the first ten or so years it was on the market, but Elvis made it the anthem that it has become today.


“Frosty the Snowman” by the Ronettes

I heard this in GoodFellas and that’s how I came to like it. Jimmy Durante’s version is classic, too, but Christmas music, Wall of Sound edition? That almost sounds too good to be true. I’m kind of bummed they cut out the “down to the village/with a broomstick in his hand” verse in favor of an instrumental section, but I’ll allow it.


“Here Comes Santa Claus” by Gene Autry

Simple, but catchy. That’s all I really have to say about it. One song that about a hundred people have done, but I think Autry’s version is the one I love the most.


The entirety of A Charlie Brown Christmas by the Vince Guaraldi Trio

It’s a bummer that this is what Vince Guaraldi became “known for,” so to speak, because his entire catalog is actually really incredible. Whatever the case may be, I think this is such a timeless Christmas classic. Yes, I have the really overproduced green Christmas vinyl for it, and yes, I am so glad that kids today know what jazz music is!


“Last Christmas” by Wham!

Another song to get you through the winter blues. I love the very 80s feel this song has, and it’s really stood the test of time with its unique sound. I feel like Wham! doesn’t nearly get as much credit, because they’re only really known for, what, two or three “big” songs? I actually enjoy some of the stuff from their discography, and of course, George Michael’s own solo career. But anyways, if you haven’t heard this a million times over already, then I don’t know what to say…


“All I Want For Christmas Is You” by Mariah Carey

I feel like a lot of people would be mad if I didn’t include this on the list, so here ya go. Though this is a specialty composition, I gave it an exception because it's become so iconic at this point.

SPECIALTY COMPOSITIONS:


“Did I Make You Cry on Christmas Day?” by Sufjan Stevens

I actually found this on a Discover Weekly recently, and I liked it quite a bit. It’s from a Christmas record Stevens compiled in 2006, aptly called Songs for Christmas. If you’re looking for his renditions of both traditional holiday classics, plus some of his own original compositions, I’d definitely recommend checking this album out.


“Please Come Home For Christmas” by Charles Brown Like “Blue Christmas,” this was another one I had trouble categorizing. While “Please Come Home For Christmas” was originally written for Brown himself, t has been covered by numerous artists over the years. That list includes Willie Nelson, The Eagles, Bon Jovi, and Kelly Clarkson. His version, however, is the OG one. This one goes out there if you are, or are becoming, a sadboy during the month of December.


“Happy Xmas (War Is Over)” by John Lennon

I don’t know how many times I can say that about a piece of music, but this is a Christmas song that’s also an anti-war song! John Lennon pairs the two completely juxtaposed things in a way where the composition feels honest and enjoyable. The children’s choir was a nice touch, too.


“The Night Santa Went Crazy” by Weird Al Yankovic

This song is too funny not to include. There are obviously other novelty/comedic Christmas songs, such as “The Twelve Days of Christmas” by Canadian characters Bob and Doug McKenzie, or Elmo and Patsy’s “Grandma Got Run Over By A Reindeer,” but this one takes the cake as the most unique. If you want to hear Weird Al show the darker side of Santa, you’re definitely going to want to listen to this one.


“Christmas Eve/Sarajevo 12/24” & “Christmas Canon” by the Trans-Siberian Orchestra

"Christmas Eve" is a guilty pleasure of mine during the Christmas season, I won't lie. But, both are a great couple of songs nonetheless. How much more epic could you make Christmas music? I remember when Regular Show used it over a final battle fight in their Christmas special, and that’s how I got hooked on it. While “Christmas Canon” is an interpretation of Pachelbel's “Canon in D,” it feels so beautiful at the same time.


So, do you agree with my picks? Was there a song you thought should have been added, or shouldn't have been on this list to begin with? If so, feel free to reach out to me! I'm always down to talk music, even Christmas music! Anyways, I hope you guys have a happy beginning to your holidays. Stay safe, stay indoors, wear a mask, and stay warm. Catch you next time!



8 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page